Recently Viewed Products

Thornhedge T. Kingfisher 9781803364230

No reviews yet Write a Review
RRP: £10.99
£8.18
SciFier saves you

  Delivery: We ship to over 200 countries!
  Rewards: Great rewards with our loyalty scheme - SciFier Rewards!
  Reviews: SciFier rated "Excellent" on Trustpilot
  Packaging: All orders packed with care

ISBN:
9781803364230
Condition:
New
Weight:
250.00 Grams
In Stock & Ready To Ship!
Availability: Usually dispatched within 2 working days

Frequently Bought Together:

Total: Inc. VAT
Total: Ex. VAT

Description

From USA Today bestselling author comes an original, subversive fairytale about a kind-hearted, toad-shaped heroine, a gentle knight, and a mission gone completely sideways, perfect for fans of Alix E. Harrow and Katharine Arden. There's a princess trapped in a tower. This isn't her story. Meet Toadling. On the day of her birth, she was stolen from her family by the fairies, but she grew up safe and loved in the warm waters of faerieland. Once an adult though, the fae ask a favor of Toadling: return to the human world and offer a blessing of protection to a newborn child. Simple, right? If only. Centuries later, a knight approaches a towering wall of brambles, where the thorns are as thick as your arm and as sharp as swords. He's heard there's a curse here that needs breaking, but it's a curse Toadling will do anything to uphold...

About the Author
T. Kingfisher is the adult fiction pseudonym of Ursula Vernon, the multi-award-winning author of Digger and Dragonbreath. She is an author and illustrator based in North Carolina who has been nominated for the Ursa Major Award, the Eisner Awards, and has won the Nebula Award for Best Short Story for "Jackalope Wives" in 2015 and the Hugo Award for Best Novelette for "The Tomato Thief" in 2017. Her debut adult horror novel, The Twisted Ones, won the 2020 Dragon Award for Best Horror Novel, and was followed by the critically acclaimed The Hollow Places.

Reviews
"I opened, I devoured. Absolutely delightful and full of charm and truth." Naomi Novik, New York Times bestselling author of A Deadly Education
"Toadling will break your heart and mend it at the same time, and that is how you know that Thornhedge is a story by T. Kingfisher. I loved this book so much." Travis Baldree, New York Times bestselling author of Legends & Lattes
"Immensely charming, unexpected, full of heart, I was utterly delighted by this incredibly original retelling of Sleeping Beauty." Katherine Arden, bestselling author of The Bear and the Nightingale
"Kingfisher never fails to dazzle." Peter S. Beagle, Hugo, Nebula, and Locus-Award winning author of The Last Unicorn
"Kingfisher's trademark wit and compassion transforms "Sleeping Beauty" into a moving meditation on guilt, grief, and duty, as well as a surprisingly sweet romance between outsiders. There are no false notes here." Publishers Weekly, STARRED review
"Haunting and unusuala unique retelling of a classic tale!" Tamora Pierce, New York Times bestselling author of the Tortall series
"The way Thornhedge turns all the fairy tales inside out is a sharp-edged delight." Katherine Addison, author of The Goblin Emperor
"At every turn, Kingfisher subverts familiar fairytale tropes into a fresh, complex, and extremely human story about loneliness, and the protective barriers we put around ourselves." Sunyi Dean, author of The Book Eaters
"Kingfisher weaves elements of fairy tale, folklore, and history in this beautifully crafted story of loss, endurance, terror, and kindness. Thornhedge is sheer magic from beginning to end!" Juliet Marillier, author of the Blackthorn & Grim and Warrior Bards series
"This marvelously fractured fairy tale takes a well-known and well-loved story and turns it completely around. . . . Highly recommended for anyone who loves to see fables fractured into new and different shapes, similar to Alix E. Harrow's A Spindle Splintered." Library Journal, STARRED review
Praise for Nettle & Bone
T. Kingfisher solidifies her place as natural and inevitable heir to the greats of her genre, while remaining clearly and unquestionably a unique voice in fantasy. This book is a modern classic and belongs alongside The Last Unicorn and Spinning Silver on your shelf.-Seanan McGuire
This book is so exciting, deeply wise, sad, brutal and compassionate all at once. And beautifully written, with a plot as cunning as fine embroidery.-Catriona Ward, author of Last House on Needless Street
Nettle & Bone is the kind of book that immediately feels like an old friend. Fairytale mythic resonance meets homey pragmatism in this utterly delightful story. It's creepy, funny, heartfelt, and full of fantastic characters I absolutely loved!Melissa Caruso, author of The Tethered Mage
Nettle & Bone brings Kingfisher's signature honesty and authenticity to a fairy tale settingthe result is refreshing, earnest but not naive, and deeply satisfying. I devoured it. This is one that's going to stay with me for a long time.Sarah Gailey, author of Magic for Liars
Witty, sparkling tale of a heroine's quest, full of matter-of-fact magic, impossible tasks, and a group of fantastic and charming companions. A delight throughout.Louisa Morgan, author of A Secret History of Witches
Nettle & Bone is pure delight. T. Kingfisher uses the bones of fairy tale to create something entirely her own, written in gloriously clear and transparent prose. I devoured this story of a princess-nun rescuing her sister from an abusive marriage, and every fresh turn delighted me.Emily Tesh, Hugo finalist, Silver in the Wood
Nettle & Bone is what happens when all the overlooked bit players of classic fantasy somehow wind up on the main quest. It's funny, frightening, and full of heart; I loved it.Alix E. Harrow, author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January
Charming and macabreoften both at the same timeNettle & Bone has bite, proper jokes, effortlessly good storytelling and a really wonderful tomb labyrinth.A. K. Larkwood, author of The Unspoken Name



Book Information
ISBN 9781803364230
Author T. Kingfisher
Format Hardback
Page Count 128
Imprint Titan Books Ltd
Publisher Titan Books Ltd

Reviews

No reviews yet Write a Review


SciFier Socials

Join the SciFier Community for Special Offers, News and Hauls!






SciFier Haul Videos

The very best of SciFier hauls from across Youtube.





SciFier Trustpilot Reviews


L - United Kingdom

Absolutely Fantastic

This was my first time ordering from SciFier but it definitely won't be my last. When it comes to buying books online the packaging needs to be good, SciFier were great they used bubble wrap to make sure they arrived perfect. Amazing range of books that majority are lower priced than most book retailers. Wonderful service, I'll definitely be recommending to everyone. Thank you.

L - United Kingdom

M - Slovenia

My favourite pick for manga

Great delivery to EU, no issues with customs. Very good packaging. A nice selection of manga and, so far, the best prices I could find :)

M - Slovenia

J - United Kingdom

My first time buying from this shop

My first time buying from this shop, but not my last. My books arrived lovely and wrapped up perfectly, just the way we like them. Looking forward to reading then and ordering more, a wonderful online experience. Check it out for yourself, go full geek.

J - United Kingdom

R - United States

Great as always

Same old, same old. Amazing experience, great packaging, shipping was faster since it was a bit smaller and check out was smooth as butter. I have now put myself on a buy allowance because I cannot be trusted lol.

R - United States