Recently Viewed Products

The Peripheral: Now a major new TV series with Amazon Prime William Gibson 9780241961001

No reviews yet Write a Review
$4.73 - $13.08

  Delivery: We ship to over 200 countries!
  Rewards: Great rewards with our loyalty scheme - SciFier Rewards!
  Reviews: SciFier rated "Excellent" on Trustpilot
  Packaging: All orders packed with care

ISBN:
9780241961001
Condition:
New
Weight:
370.00 Grams
In Stock & Ready To Ship!
Availability: Available

Frequently Bought Together:

Total: Inc. VAT
Total: Ex. VAT

Description

The Peripheral by William Gibson is a thrilling new novel about two intertwined futures, from the bestselling author of Neuromancer

'Wild, richly satisfying . . . big-screen, popcorn-chewing thrills. What a glorious ride' Guardian

In the near future in a broken down rural America, Flynne Fisher scrapes a living as a gamer for rich players. One night, working a game set in a futuristic but puzzlingly empty London, she sees a death that's unnervingly vivid. Soon after she gets word that it isn't a game after all - the future she saw is all too real, she's the only witness to a murder and someone from that unreal tomorrow now wants her dead.

The story of a young woman caught between two worlds, The Peripheral interweaves two futures - pre-apocalypse USA and post-apocalypse London - to tell a story which gets right to heart of the way we live now.

'A tightly plotted, tautly paced novel that unfolds with the dream logic of a fairy tale' The Times Literary Supplement

'Frightening plausible. Not just a unique and brilliantly talented SF novelist but a social and psychological visionary. A wonderful addition to a brilliant oeuvre' The Times

'Superb . . . frantic with imagination' Ned Beauman, Observer

'Fast-moving, accessible, instantly gripping, so laden with cliffhangers you become afraid he'll run out of cliffs' SFX

According to the Guardian, in terms of influence Gibson is 'probably the most important novelist of the past two decades'. The Peripheral, which marks a return to the futurism of Neuromancer, will be adored by Gibson readers and will also appeal to fans of Ender's Game, Looper and Source Code.



About the Author
William Gibson is credited with having coined the term "cyberspace" and having envisioned both the Internet and virtual reality before either existed. His first novel Neuromancer sold more than six million copies worldwide, and Count Zero and Mona Lisa Overdrive completed the trilogy. He has written six further novels about the strange contemporary world we inhabit. His most recent novels include Spook Country, Zero History and The Peripheral. His non-fiction collection, Distrust That Particular Flavour, compiles assorted writings and journalism from across his career.

Reviews
Superb . . . frantic with imagination and frantic with the appetite to see what happens next -- Ned Beauman, Observer
What a glorious ride! Like the woman said: brain 'splode -- Sam Leith * Guardian *



Book Information
ISBN 9780241961001
Author William Gibson
Format Paperback
Page Count 496
Imprint Penguin Books Ltd
Publisher Penguin Books Ltd
Weight(grams) 341g
Dimensions(mm) 198mm * 129mm * 29mm

Reviews

No reviews yet Write a Review


SciFier Socials

Join the SciFier Community for Special Offers, News and Hauls!






SciFier Haul Videos

The very best of SciFier hauls from across Youtube.





SciFier Trustpilot Reviews


L - United Kingdom

Absolutely Fantastic

This was my first time ordering from SciFier but it definitely won't be my last. When it comes to buying books online the packaging needs to be good, SciFier were great they used bubble wrap to make sure they arrived perfect. Amazing range of books that majority are lower priced than most book retailers. Wonderful service, I'll definitely be recommending to everyone. Thank you.

L - United Kingdom

M - Slovenia

My favourite pick for manga

Great delivery to EU, no issues with customs. Very good packaging. A nice selection of manga and, so far, the best prices I could find :)

M - Slovenia

J - United Kingdom

My first time buying from this shop

My first time buying from this shop, but not my last. My books arrived lovely and wrapped up perfectly, just the way we like them. Looking forward to reading then and ordering more, a wonderful online experience. Check it out for yourself, go full geek.

J - United Kingdom

R - United States

Great as always

Same old, same old. Amazing experience, great packaging, shipping was faster since it was a bit smaller and check out was smooth as butter. I have now put myself on a buy allowance because I cannot be trusted lol.

R - United States