Recently Viewed Products

New

A Thousand Beginnings and Endings Ellen Oh 9780062671165

No reviews yet Write a Review
RRP: £8.99
£6.44
SciFier saves you

  Delivery: We ship to over 200 countries!
  Rewards: Great rewards with our loyalty scheme - SciFier Rewards!
  Reviews: SciFier rated "Excellent" on Trustpilot
  Packaging: All orders packed with care

ISBN:
9780062671165
Weight:
501.00 Grams
In Stock & Ready To Ship!
Availability: Usually dispatched within 7 working days

Frequently Bought Together:

Total: Inc. VAT
Total: Ex. VAT

Description

Sixteen extraordinary authors-including New York Times bestsellers Melissa de la Cruz, Renee Ahdieh, and Julie Kagawa-reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate. This exquisite paperback anthology includes an original bonus story from Ellen Oh. In a starred review, Publishers Weekly called A Thousand Beginnings and Endings a "must-read."

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother's mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place.

Bestselling and award-winning authors explore the timeless themes of East and South Asian lore in sixteen original stories that will appeal to every reader. From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. Edited by We Need Diverse Books co-founder Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, this anthology contains stories from sixteen Asian and South Asian authors, including New York Times bestsellers and award-winners. In a starred review, Kirkus called it an "incredible anthology that will keep readers on the edges of their seats, wanting more."

Featuring:

Renee Ahdieh, Elsie Chapman, Sona Charaipotra, Preeti Chhibber, Roshani Chokshi, Aliette de Bodard, Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Rahul Kanakia, Lori M. Lee, E. C. Myers, Cindy Pon, Aisha Saeed, Shveta Thakrar, Alyssa Wong, and a new original story by Ellen Oh.



About the Author
Ellen Oh is the cofounder of We Need Diverse Books and author of the award-winning Spirit Hunters series for middle grade readers and the Prophecy trilogy (Prophecy, Warrior, and King) for young adults. Originally from New York City, Ellen is a former adjunct college instructor and lawyer with an insatiable curiosity for ancient Asian history. Ellen lives in Bethesda, Maryland, with her husband and three children and has yet to satisfy her quest for a decent bagel. You can visit her online at ellenoh.com. Sona Charaipotra is the author of Symptoms of a Heartbreak and How Maya Got Fierce and coauthor of The Rumor Game and Tiny Pretty Things, now a Netflix original series. She earned a master's degree in screenwriting from NYU and an MFA in creative writing from the New School. A working journalist, Sona has held editorial roles at People, TeenPeople, ABCNews.com, MSN, several parenting publications, the Barnes & Noble Teen Blog (RIP), and, most recently, as senior editor of trends and features at Parents.com. She has contributed to publications from the New York Times to TeenVogue. She is a former We Need Diverse Books board member, and she cofounded CAKE Literary, a boutique book packager focused on high concept diverse titles. Find her on the web talking about books, Bollywood movies, and chai. Roshani Chokshi is the award-winning author of the New York Times bestselling series the Star-Touched Queen and the Gilded Wolves as well as Aru Shah and the End of Time, which Time named one of the Top 100 Fantasy Books of All Time. Chokshi's adult debut, The Last Tale of the Flower Bride, was a #1 Sunday Times bestseller. Her novels have been translated into more than two dozen languages and often draw upon world mythology and folklore. Chokshi is a member of the National Leadership Board for the Michael C. Carlos Museum and lives in Georgia with her family. Melissa de la Cruz grew up in Manila and San Francisco. She is the author of the novels Cat's Meow and The Au Pairs. She coauthored the nonfiction books How to Become Famous in Two Weeks or Less and The Fashionista Files: Adventures in Four-Inch Heels and Faux Pas. Her work has been translated into many languages. She lives in Los Angeles with her husband. Naomi Kanakia's novels include We Are Totally Normal and Enter Title Here. Additionally, her stories have appeared in Asimov's Science Fiction, Clarkesworld, Fantasy & Science Fiction, Lightspeed, Indiana Review, and Nature. She has received fellowships from the Virginia Center for the Creative Arts and the Lambda Literary Foundation. Originally from Washington, DC, Naomi now lives in San Francisco. Cindy Pon is the author of Silver Phoenix, named one of the top ten fantasy novels for youth by Booklist. She lives with her husband and two children in San Diego, California. Aisha Saeed is the New York Times bestselling author of the critically acclaimed novel Amal Unbound; the Bank Street Books Best Book Written in the Stars; Aladdin: Far from Agrabah; and Bilal Cooks Daal. Aisha is also a founding member of the nonprofit We Need Diverse Books. She lives in Atlanta with her husband and sons. You can find her online at aishasaeed.com. Shveta Thakrar's debut novel, Star Daughter, is a standalone YA fantasy perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Laini Taylor, and Margaret Rogerson. Shveta's work has appeared in a number of magazines and anthologies, including Enchanted Living, Uncanny Magazine, and Toil & Trouble. You can find her online at shvetathakrar.com and on Twitter and Instagram at @ShvetaThakrar.

Reviews
"Contrary to our Disney-fied expectations, not every story has a happy ending - yet another facet to this fine compilation that enhances its ability to surprise, intrigue and delight." - Chicago Tribune "This collection fills a gap in modern retellings of fairy tales and myths by presenting non-European myths. ...Give to fans of Marissa Meyer's "Lunar Chronicles" or Rick Riordan's Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard. An excellent first purchase for all libraries." - School Library Journal (starred review) "Outstanding...Each story is followed by a missive from its author, sharing inspiration and background on creative choices and changes. Thoughtfully compiled and written, this compendium is a must-read." - Publishers Weekly (starred review) "A collection of Asian myths and legends in which beloved stories of spirits, magic, family, love, and heartbreak are combined with elements from modern teens' lives....With such a variety of emotion and experiences to explore, nearly any teen can find something to relate to...An incredible anthology that will keep readers on the edges of their seats, wanting more." - Kirkus Reviews (starred review) "Authors Oh and Chapman have created this much-needed anthology of Asian myths and folktales. ...It's a wonderful concept, and the styles and subjects are as diverse as the countries and cultures represented. ...these stories are for everyone." - Booklist "Oh and Chapman bring together fifteen authors with Asian roots to reinterpret stories from throughout Asia, creating a collection that...explores the traditional folktale motifs of fate, vengeance, goodness, and love. ...an inventiveness on par with Bardugo's folktale revisions in The Language of Thorns." - Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books "All of these stories achieve emotional depth and connection while showcasing each storyteller's unique literary voice." - The Horn Book "Fifteen acclaimed Asian and Asian-American authors breathe fresh life into 15 popular Asian folktales and myths, elevating this anthology to a higher level...Oh and Chapman have created a work that celebrates Asian storytelling. It should fill...the reader with wonder." - BookPage



Book Information
ISBN 9780062671165
Author Ellen Oh
Format Paperback
Page Count 352
Imprint Greenwillow Books
Publisher HarperCollins Publishers Inc
Weight(grams) 263g
Dimensions(mm) 203mm * 135mm * 20mm

Reviews

No reviews yet Write a Review


SciFier Socials

Join the SciFier Community for Special Offers, News and Hauls!






SciFier Haul Videos

The very best of SciFier hauls from across Youtube.





SciFier Trustpilot Reviews


L - United Kingdom

Absolutely Fantastic

This was my first time ordering from SciFier but it definitely won't be my last. When it comes to buying books online the packaging needs to be good, SciFier were great they used bubble wrap to make sure they arrived perfect. Amazing range of books that majority are lower priced than most book retailers. Wonderful service, I'll definitely be recommending to everyone. Thank you.

L - United Kingdom

M - Slovenia

My favourite pick for manga

Great delivery to EU, no issues with customs. Very good packaging. A nice selection of manga and, so far, the best prices I could find :)

M - Slovenia

J - United Kingdom

My first time buying from this shop

My first time buying from this shop, but not my last. My books arrived lovely and wrapped up perfectly, just the way we like them. Looking forward to reading then and ordering more, a wonderful online experience. Check it out for yourself, go full geek.

J - United Kingdom

R - United States

Great as always

Same old, same old. Amazing experience, great packaging, shipping was faster since it was a bit smaller and check out was smooth as butter. I have now put myself on a buy allowance because I cannot be trusted lol.

R - United States